The Open Source Madness

The Open Source Madness

What makes anyone write code with all its poetry and semantics after spending countless hours solving the problem associated and then gives it all away for free to the public to use how they want?

I can tell you that here in Africa this is considered madness and the stuff of fools. They cant comprehend why you would create something and instead of selling it you decide to give anyone who cares for it. Your family could literally disown you for this folly not to mention your friends. It is just unthinkable.

Well as for me I am glad someone decided to share their knowledge and it has made me better for it. I am glad for the folly that has made me smarter and I totally appreciate it in ways even the people involved will never understand. When you are on a continent where information is simply hoarded and made available in a drip format and even at that in low quality then one is simply ecstatic at the miracle that is open source.

Open source has given us developers all over the world a chance to express ourselves at the highest form possible because you can simply take a look at someone's creation and be inspired to do better. I remember trying to learn PHP years back and I was simply disinterested after a while due to the way it was presented and taught. Years later I started learning the Python language on my own all on the internet and I can tell you that the experience was fun and incomparable to what I got before. To see the applications of the language on popular sites and have access to read their code gives one a sense of belonging.

The technologies we have been blessed with have given us a much needed upgrade in our socioeconomic lives. Tech has a new face and the days of absolutely ugly looking pages seem to be going the way of the dinosaur. A much appreciated extinction!

Every now and then we care to give away our knowledge to those who really need it and to make the world a better place. To create tools that can make our work more accessible and available at scale and to make someone somewhere get on their feet in the shortest possible time. Madness never looked so good and honestly I don't mind indulging a bit. How mad can I get? I will let you know soon enough meanwhile let's all keep the madness burning bright!

Cheers to being a source of open web culture....